MBT Week 4: Individual Session

This week my session with my individual therapist felt a little incoherent. It felt like the subject moved around a lot and I was worried we hadn’t achieved much.

I talked in some more depth about my fear of being involved in conflict in the group following the arguments and upset of the session on Tuesday (see previous post).

My individual therapist has asked me to write a short list of what I think I struggle with the most, what I would like to work on in therapy.

I guess this might fit in well with the group homework, which is to think about which of our personality traits we have been struggling with this week. I’m finding it tricky to know what counts as a personality trait.

One of the things I’m really struggling with this week is being alone and trying to comfort myself. It is a challenge to fill my time, to stay motivated and not to feel empty a lot of the time. I suppose this could in general be called dependence on others for emotional support, or a failure to self comfort.

Readers, I have a question for you! Has there ever been anything you didn’t want to tell your mental health professionals because you were too embarrassed and/or worried about it being written down about you somewhere?

You don’t have to tell me what it is, but I am I interested to know how you dealt with that. Did you tell them? Did you keep it to yourself? If you told, how did you broach the subject? How did you contain it so you didn’t feel the information had gotten out of your control?

Leave a Reply

