Feeling Hopeless

MBT Week 8: Individual Session

This week we mostly talked about how I’m feeling really hopeless and desperate at the moment. I really feel that I can’t cope and I don’t know how I’m going to get through the next four days until my next support appointment.

I don’t know that I left feeling any better but my therapist at least acknowledged how bad I’m feeling. She didn’t try to sweep my feelings under the carpet like a lot of professionals have in the past, and like my family always have.

Then a little later I had a phone call from my occupational therapist while standing in the shade opposite the bus station to try to get some privacy.

I didn’t really know what to say to her and I felt guilty. She was saying all these things to try to get me to feel better and none of it was working or giving me any hope at all. I feel like I’m a waste of everybody’s time.

3 thoughts on “Feeling Hopeless

  1. I know this probably won’t help to much, but I’ve been right where you are. Sometimes there’s a thought that back then was so strong and used to tell me I was a hopeless cause. I’ve been facing this situation about 7 years ago or so. I won’t say I feel totally healthy and fine right now, but I have really improved. I see life in a different way, or at least I try to.
    It is interesting how sometimes I feel like overjoyed and happy while my psychologist and psychiatrist use to tell me I am not really doing as well as they wish and as I feel. Makes me think, am I being too optimistic? But in the end, I think that what matters is actually how I feel, and I am doing awesome.

    So, in my experience, I won’t say that everything would be okay, since I know how bothering it is to hear that when you actually thing that is no true. I would only recomend to have patience. As much as we hate waiting and would like everything to go as fast as it can, only time will help. That and having someone or something you can rely on whenever you feel down, cause you need to always talk out what passes through your mind without being judged.

    I send you my best wishes.

  2. Pingback: Borderlion | MBT Week 9

Leave a Reply

